♥stranger than fiction♥

I’ve changed.

Posted on: June 28, 2009

As an introduction to our discussion on communication evolution, our professor in OrCom 152 posted this question to the class, inspired by a Facebook quiz: HOW MUCH HAVE YOU CHANGED SINCE BEFORE YOU START BEING AN ORCOM STUDENT OF UP MANILA?

At that moment, I was contemplating on what to answer if I was called, and I can’t think of any decent answer. I mean, I don’t think I’ve changed a lot since I graduate from high school. I still have poor study habits. I still dislike reading. I made new friends but still have the old ones.

But thanks to the heavy traffic of Aguinaldo Highway in Cavite I was able to think of the changes happened to me since I graduated in high school.

1. I now suck at math. Err. When I was in high school, I used to like math. I used to understand Algebra and Statistics.  I used to enjoy solving math problems because I answer them right. But come (and thanks to) UP Manila, Organizational Communication, Math 1,  Math 11, and OrCom 155, I, officially, and forever will despise Math. The notion that OrCom people suck at Math now applies to me.

2. I rarely watch TV now. Or I want to, but I can’t. I don’t know. Before, I spend almost half of my entire day watching and following TV drama series, Koreanovelas, and cartoons. I memorized lines from commercials and even used them in my conversations with other people. Now, I can’t even remember product names when we were asked to enumerate commercials and product names that we can recall seeing in our typical day. The only TV commercials I remembered immediately were that of Colt 45’s (my favorite commercial because of the humor).

 Also, I refuse watching TV series because I know that I would not be able to watch it every time it is being aired. It is either I grew impatient following these shows, shown only once a week, or I don’t really have the time to do so, mind the travel time from Manila to Cavite and of course, the loads of school stuff to work on (Hehe. The truth is, Smart Bro’s Unlimited 24/7 internet talaga ang may kasalanan). But thanks to my OrComates (esp. Alvina, haha!), watching House M.D., Heroes, One Tree Hill, Gossip Girl, Grey’s Anatomy, and Pushing Daisies the whole day is now possible. Yey! =)

3. I now pay more attention to grammar and the way people speak. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not an expert in this area. I still have a lot to learn. But now, when I watch DVDs with English subtitles that I can hardly understand, read something grammatically wrong, heard someone mispronounced some words, or hear Marian Rivera speak in English, it frustrates me. (Grr. Evil.) I don’t know if that’s a good change or a bad one, though.

4. I am more vocal now. Well not in a classroom setting, though. Haha. I used to be a Yes-person. I dislike confrontations and arguments, that’s why in my circle of friends, I would always be the one to give way. I remember my best friends telling me “lumaban ka naman pag inaaway ka naming, nakakinis ka kaaway eh” because I would just always say “okay” when we were getting into heated arguments. I also can relate to Angge yesterday because before, I was also too shy to order food in a fast food chain. When I entered UP Manila, one thing I learned was that it is okay to say no sometimes, and that it is not wrong to voice out your opinions and thoughts. I now have the confidence to voice out what I want people to know. I now speak when I have to clarify something or if I want to be understood.

 5. I am now a blogger. I don’t really blog. I never even had a journal or a diary before. This blogging thing is really new to me. I even envy my classmates who have neat and decent layouts and themed blogs (like Jeanne’s, Kath’s and Nash’s). Also, the thought of religiously writing entries scares me. What if nothing blog-worthy happened? What if I have nothing substantial to say? But thanks of Sir Barry and OrCom 152, I am now officially a blogger. I now have something blog-worthy to share (OrCom learnings especially regarding Communication Trends and Style). I may really have something substantial to say… Well I should.  Blogging scares me but i’m thrilled. 

That’s pretty much it. Those are some of the changes that happened to me when I became an OrCom student. Haha.

 

P.S. How do I filter comments? =)

2 Responses to "I’ve changed."

we really owe the changes we’ve been through to OrCom. Whatever those changes are, they sure contribute a lot to us being better individuals. 🙂

Yeah. UP Manila and the OrCom program indeed change all of us in many different ways. arghh.

though i cant say that all the changes that happened to me were good changes. hahaha!

jhe, can’t believe we’re having this conversation. wahahaha!

Leave a Reply

