♥stranger than fiction♥

On Internet and Conversations: A reflection on Christopher Locke’s Internet Apocalypso

Posted on: June 28, 2009

When I first clicked the link for the copy of Internet Apocalypso that Sir Barry posted in the Comm Capsule, I thought it was tremendously long. Being the self-professed lazy and I-hate-reading type of person that I am, I thought that it would be extremely agonizing and definitely hard for me to finish such long and boring article. So I closed the window.

Come Saturday morning, I mustered enough courage to print a copy and to read the article on my way to school. As I flipped through the pages, I began to like it and realized that it was not that boring to read after all. The author crafted the words in a conversational manner, as if he was actually talking to his readers. Though I wasn’t able to grasp that he tackled in the article, he succeeded in capturing my interest and making the topic.

Now for the (supposed to be) substantial part…

“It [the Net] was technically obscure, impenetrable, populated by geeks and wizards, loners, misfits .”

Back then, (I could not remember when exactly, perhaps when I was in elementary until mid high school) the Internet is some kind of alien to me. We still don’t have (or so I thought) 24/7 unlimited broadband, Wi-Fi, or wireless internet so I only used the internet (in computer shops) when I have something to research on.

Today, because of its accessibility and availability, the Internet and the World Wide Web seem to be most prevalent. Almost, if not everyone in our generation (not just the geeks, the wizards, the loners, and the misfits) uses it not just as a research tool but also as a means of communication, leisure, and source of information.

“The Internet became a place where people could talk to other people without constraint. Without filters or censorship or official sanction… The attraction was in speech, however mediated. In people talking, however slowly.”

Because of the internet, we are able to do what distinguishes us from other forms of living things—we converse. The Internet became another avenue for us to converse with other people, however different our races may be. However far apart we are from each other. Whenever and wherever (as long as there’s internet connection) we want. Now, because of this easily-accessed and faster means of communication, even corporations, not just people use this powerful tool to their advantage. They develop systems similar to the Internet (such as the Intranet) so that they can communicate with their employees as well. They can send and receive messages and information faster making them more productive and efficient.

But this whole gamut of conversation, from infinite jest to point-specific expertise: who needs it? Companies need it. Without it they can’t innovate, build consensus, or go to market. Markets need it. Without it they don’t know what works and what doesn’t.

I liked the way the author put emphasis on how vital communication and conversation are. Communication and conversation are the things that make us human. From these conversations, we procure knowledge. From these we are able to think of ways to progress. Internet, to us now, is like a basic necessity because we are able to freely converse here. We can freely share our thoughts and opinions. We can say what’s on our minds. We became so hooked with the internet that we can’t even let a day pass without checking our online accounts.

“And then it came to me: I could write on the World Wide Web! . . .I’d be free at last to speak in my own voice without begging anyone’s permission.”

However, although the World Wide Web became an avenue for us to express our thoughts using our own voice, there’s still a downside to it. Because internet is a place free for all, the Internet could also be a place for arguing,  destroying reputation, and mocking to name a few.  I remember someone from Facebook’s Sorority Life game who told me to die because I (not intentionally) attacked her too many times. Or even those sex videos  that are supposed to be private, thanks to the Internet, these are now everybody’s property to feast their eyes on. Personally, I am really scared to post my thoughts online because I wouldn’t know whether someone would be offended or if what i would post would be used against me. Though I enjoy surfing the net, answering Facebook quizzes, and playing games online, the whole idea of post-whatever-i-want in the internet really scares me.

“Things change and change is often painful.”

But no matter how scared I am, just like other people, I’ve come to a realization that things change very fast. We have to be resilient enough to be able to adapt to every change we may encounter. And just like the Internet, these changes “are not good or bad per se, it depends on how we use them” or what we make out of it.

 

This one’s totally off topic I just liked it very much.

“As soon as I stopped strategizing how to “get ink” for the company that was paying my salary, as soon as I stopped seeing journalists of free advertising for my employer, I started having genuine conversations with genuinely interesting people.”

I agree with the author on this. I think the best way to define PR is by this quotation. PR is not only about superficial conversations, sweet talks, promotions, and ass-kissing. PR is building genuine, meaningful relationships with your public.

6 Responses to "On Internet and Conversations: A reflection on Christopher Locke’s Internet Apocalypso"

yeeees, she agrees.. well, what else can we say, the author also narrated his experience. i thiink we all too have the same experience in some degree compared to his. hehe 🙂

oo nga, i think we all love that. knowing that other people, to some degree are aalso experiencing what we experience, doing the same things that we do. knowing that we are not alone.

let’s admit it, we all love chismis. and we enjoy when someone shares his/her experiences and finding out that we’re alike in some ways even if you really don’t know each other at all. haha

sabaaaw!!

Nice piece. Thanks. 😉

thanks! =)

i like how you used relevant quotes from the reading as breakers for your post; not only is it easy for the eyes, but it also helps in the thought transition.

a little bit of history about your first encounter with Internet is quite interesting; i just hoped you carried it through in relation to the insights from the reading.

and i’m with you with being cautious about sharing everything we have in mind online. that’s a very mature way of handling it. the uninitiated would just go jump in and fire off, only to realize those same bullets will be fired back at him.

thanks sir!

i am very thankful that you actually saw something substantial in my entire post. i thought it was very sabbaaaww!!

Leave a Reply

